President &
League Secretary
(Barnes WE)

Senior Vice President &
Competitions Secretary
(Houghton Town)

Junior Vice President
(Barnes Park)

Honorary Secretary &
(Roker Park)

Executive Council
Executive Council
Executive Council &
(North Biddick)


The Sunderland & District Association is the main local governing body within the Sunderland area, the association was formed back in 1925 when there were a total of nine founder members -: Barnes Park - Barnes West End - Boldon - Dawdon Rec - Mowbray - Pemberton - Roker Marine - Roker Park and Seaham Town.

1926 was the Associations first season full whereby clubs competed in three leagues - Earl Cup, Swan Cup and the Storey Bowl.

The first winners of the Earl Cup were Mowbray, the Swan Cup went to Roker Park while the Storey Bowl went to Roker Marine.

Over the years the number of clubs within the association increased and there are currently twenty six clubs competing in the various leagues.

Current list of clubs -
Barnes Park, Barnes West End, Chester le Street, Dawdon Welfare, Grindon Mill, Hetton Workmens, Houghton Dairy Lane, Houghton Town
Hylton Colliery Welfare, New Herrington, North Biddick, Pennywell, Pemberton, Ryhope CA, Roker Marine, Roker Park, Seaham Town, Silksworth, South Hetton, South Hylton, Sunderland, Thompson Park, Usworth, Washington Glebe, Wearmouth, Whitburn.

List of former clubs -
Barley Mow, Binns, Boldon, Easington, Eppleton, Great Lumley, Hetton Park, LNER, Pyrex, Services, Thorney Close

In 1949 the introduction of a Over 65's Veteran's League called the Harold Howey was so popular that two divisions were created as clubs were allowed to enter more than one team. The league's popularity was such that a third division was added therefore promotion and relegation was introduced.

The Earl, Swan and Howey are still rolling along with the Earl Cup split into three divisions while the Swan and Howey are a two division set up, the Storey Bowl has remained as a single division.

The Association also runs several competitions, the Silver Jack Pairs, the Burkett Shield Triples, the Inter Club unique 3-2-1 Knock-out Triples with the end of season Champion of Champions Singles. In 1998 the Association introduced a Seniors Champion of Champions competition.

The popular Town Tournament ran from 1938 until 1991, over those years there were many household names on the winners trophy - Johnson, Bell, Briggs, Barnes, Bransby, Humphrey, Irwing, Clennell, Hanger, Barker, Gibson, Thurlbeck, Briscoe and the last winner Ryhope's Joe Beaney. The following year the tournament was renamed the City Singles but due to entries constantly dropping it only ran another 15 years to 2006, the last winner was Roker Marines Bobby Graham.



Site last updated : Tuesday October 2, 2018 6:14 PM