Sunderland & District Competitions



The Sunderland & District currently run two open competitions - The Silver Jacks and The Burkett Shield plus a team knock out 3-2-1 Triples sometimes fondly referred to the "Ted Rogers Triples" (after the TV quiz show). At the latter end of the season there is also a Champion of Champions Singles competition played which was expanded to incorporate a Seniors Champion of Champions in 1998. Although not organised by the District the council ran the Town Tournament Singles, in 1992 it was rebranded the City Singles, sadly interest from the council and the local bowls scene dropped off and 2006 was the final year it was held.

2018 Champions

Silver Jacks 2018 Winners
J.Richardson, G.McPheators (Silksworth)

Burkett Shield 2018 Winners
N.Ridley, I.Riches, W.Ferry (Silksworth)

Champion of Champions 2018 Winner
B.Henderson snr (Seaham Town)

Seniors Champion of Champions 2018 Winner
JA.Smith (Roker Marine)

3-2-1 Knock-Out Triples 2018 Winners































Site last updated : Tuesday October 2, 2018 8:10 AM