During the season some live score feed's from the latter stages of the competiitons can be accessed via the link below
























Sunderland & District Bowling Association

The Sunderland & District Association is the main local governing body within the Sunderland area, the association was formed back in 1925 when there were a total of nine founder members -: Barnes Park - Barnes West End - Boldon - Dawdon Rec - Mowbray - Pemberton - Roker Marine - Roker Park and Seaham Town.

1926 was the Associations first season full whereby clubs competed in three leagues - Earl Cup, Swan Cup and the Storey Bowl.

The first winners of the Earl Cup were Mowbray, the Swan Cup went to Roker Park while the Storey Bowl went to Roker Marine.

Over the years the number of clubs within the association increased and there are currently 26* clubs competing in the various leagues

Current list of clubs
Barnes Park Barnes West End Chester le Street Dawdon Welfare
Great Lumley* Grindon Mill Hetton Park Hetton Workmens
Houghton Dairy Lane Houghton Town Hylton Colliery Welfare New Herrington
North Biddick Pennywell Pemberton Ryhope CA
Roker Marine Roker Park Seaham Town Silksworth
South Hetton South Hylton Sunderland Thompson Park
Usworth Washington Glebe Wearmouth Whitburn
Clubs that are now defunct
Barley Mow Mowbray LNER Services
Boldon Eppleton Easington Pyrex
Thorney Close Binns SC    
(* Great Lumley are still part of the association but don't play in any of the league)

In 1949 the introduction of a Over 65's Veteran's League called the Harold Howey was so popular that two divisions were created as clubs were allowed to enter more than one team. The league's popularity was such that a third division was added therefore promotion and relegation was introduced.

The Earl, Swan and Howey are still rolling along with the Earl Cup split into three divisions while the Swan and Howey are a two division set up, the Storey Bowl has remained as a single division.

The Association also runs several competitions, the Silver Jack Pairs, the Burkett Shield Triples, the Inter Club unique 3-2-1 Knock-out Triples with the end of season Champion of Champions Singles. In 1998 the Association introduced a Seniors Champion of Champions competition.

The popular Town Tournament ran from 1938 until 1991, over those years there were many household names on the winners trophy - Johnson, Bell, Briggs, Barnes, Bransby, Humphrey, Irwing, Clennell, Hanger, Barker, Gibson, Thurlbeck, Briscoe and the last winner Ryhope's Joe Beaney. The following year the tournament was renamed the City Singles but due to entries constantly dropping it only ran another 15 years to 2006, the last winner was Roker Marines Bobby Graham.

The Para-Handy Bowling Wheelchair is a specially designed self-propelled wheelchair suitable for both indoor and outdoor bowling greens. This wheelchair has met with approval by the British Wheelchair Bowling Association.
The Para-Handy Bowling Wheelchair with its variable height settings is suitable to bowlers of all ages.

Two local clubs have taken delivery of the adapted wheelchairs, click HERE to read full details or click on the Para-Handy image to go to there website.




Site last updated : Tuesday July 25, 2017 5:11 PM